jvsirc gurukul



Color Therapy

Color Therapy :

Color therapy, or chromotherapy (light therapy), is the method of treating ailments through the use of color. Color therapy can be done by shining an appropriate color on an area of the body. It can also be done through the eyes by looking at a particular color, though this should be done with the utmost care to avoid any strain on the eyes. It is a complementary therapy, and should not be used as an alternative to professional medical care. Its results vary and cannot be guaranteed – its efficacy will in large part be dependent on the individual.

The energy relating to each of the seven spectrum colours of red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet, resonates with the energy of each of the seven main chakras/energy centres of the body. If you can imagine the chakras as a set of cogs/wheels, they are rather like the workings of a clock or an engine; each cog/wheel needs to move smoothly for the clock/engine to work properly. Thus good health and well being is achieved by a balance of all these energies. Balance of the energy in each of the body’s chakras is very important for health and well being. Colour therapy can help to re-balance and/or stimulate these energies by applying the appropriate colour to the body and therefore re-balance our chakras.

Important colors for use in color therapy :

  • Red relates to the base chakra. This should not be given to anyone on the head. But if really concentrated on to rheumatic joints it will be beneficial.
  • Orange the sacral chakra. This is a stimulating color which can be given to the spleen, liver, kidneys, heart and indeed to any organ which helps to promote good circulation.
  • Yellow the solar plexus chakra. Any mental deficiency, no matter how it shows itself, will be relieved by the use of yellow if concentrated on to small areas of the body.
  • Green the heart chakra. Green is the great balancer and harmonizer it causes many people to become very relaxed.
  • Blue the throat chakra. If the complaint is high blood pressure, any kind of nervous breakdown, nervous tension in any one of its forms, blue is applied.
  • Indigo the brow chakra (sometimes referred to as the third eye)
  • Violet relates to the crown chakra. Violet light is confined mainly to the forehead, the back and front of the head, the back and front of the neck and in concentrated form over the heart and between the shoulder blades.

For personal appointment Contact us